Invitation: Meet with Search Committee for Vice Chancellor Academic Personnel

October 21, 2010

UCLA Faculty 

Dear Colleagues: 

As recently announced by Executive Vice Chancellor Waugh, a search committee has been charged with identifying candidates for the next UCLA vice chancellor for academic personnel.

I am pleased to serve as chair of this committee.  Other members are Deborah L. Estrin – professor of computer science and electrical engineering, Jon Postel Chair in Computer Networks, and director of the Center for Embedded Networked Sensing; C. Cindy Fan – professor of geography and Asian American studies and associate dean, social sciences; Russell Ferguson – professor and chair, department of art; Mark L. Green – professor of mathematics; Patricia A. Kapur  – professor and Ronald L. Katz, M.D. chair, department of anesthesiology and interim co-president of the UCLA Faculty Practice Group; Jeffery F. Miller – professor and M. Philip Davis Chair, department of microbiology, immunology and molecular genetics; Teofilo F. Ruiz – professor of history and faculty director, International Education Office; Debora Shuger – distinguished professor of English and associate dean, humanities; Dwayne D. Simmons – professor of integrative biology and physiology; and Michael A. Stoll – professor and chair, department of public policy. 

As a critical part of the search process, we invite you to meet with the committee on Thursday, October 28, 3:00 – 4:00pm in 2121 Murphy Hall, to share information and insights regarding the search. 

While there is no formal agenda for this meeting, you may wish to gather your thoughts on current challenges and opportunities that could help set the agenda for the new vice chancellor; what areas of the vice chancellor’s portfolio you feel are most critical at this time; ideal qualities and qualifications for the new vice chancellor; and any other information or insight that will help guide the committee’s efforts. 

So that we can plan adequate seating and refreshments, kindly reply with your attendance plans.  If you wish to provide input to the committee but are unable to attend this meeting, please forward any comments to

Following is the position announcement, as circulated last month.  Once again, we invite you to nominate any individuals you feel are exceptionally well-qualified and/or express your own interest in the position.  Please forward inquiries, nominations and applications to  

Thank you for your assistance. 

Stephen C. Yeazell

Chair, Search Committee for Vice Chancellor for Academic Personnel
David G. Price & Dallas P. Price Professor of Law