Adrienne Lavine Appointed Faculty Director for Office of Instructional Development

June 15, 2017

UCLA Office of the Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost

Dear Colleagues,

We are delighted to announce that Professor Adrienne Lavine has accepted the position of Faculty Director of the Office of Instructional Development (OID), effective July 1, 2017.

OID is an essential component of UCLA’s overall excellence; we are excited for the energy, vision, and expertise Professor Lavine brings to the organization. Recent reviews of OID, the report of the task force on OID’s future, and analyses of teaching and learning at UCLA all highlight a strong call on campus for a robust center devoted to increasing excellence in teaching and learning at all levels. OID, especially under Professor Lavine’s leadership, is uniquely positioned to respond to that call.

Over the next two years, Professor Lavine will work with faculty, deans, and staff to refine a vision for OID that takes into account our need for a center of teaching and learning and to take steps toward implementing that vision. The range of her responsibilities is considerable, including positioning OID to serve as a hub and convener of campus-wide efforts to improve teaching and learning, as well as building learning communities of faculty and graduate students, and reaching out to academic departments to facilitate attention to and improvements in pedagogy. Professor Lavine is being asked to identify how OID can and should support school and division-based teaching and learning initiatives; to strengthen TA training campus-wide; to develop information, tools, or programs to promote inclusive classrooms; and to build capacity in analytics and assessment as needed for institutional/departmental self-assessment and improvement efforts. We’re also excited to have Adrienne champion OID in Centennial Campaign efforts.

Professor Lavine joined the faculty at UCLA in 1984. She received her Ph.D. from UC Berkeley and her B.S. from Brown University, both in Mechanical Engineering. She has served as Chair of the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering and Chair of the Academic Senate. She was the Director of Education and Outreach for the NSF-sponsored Center for Scalable and Integrated Nano-Manufacturing (2003-14), directed the Clare Boothe Luce Undergraduate Scholars Program (2010-13), and chaired the SEAS ABET Accreditation Committee (2002-2006). She was awarded the Henry and Susan Samueli Teaching Award in her department in 2003 and is the co-author of an internationally respected heat transfer textbook. Professor Lavine is a Fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME), received the Taylor Medal of CIRP (the International Academy for Production Engineering) and the NSF’s Presidential Young Investigator Award, and was Associate Editor of both the ASME Journal of Heat Transfer and the ASME Journal of Engineering for Industry. Lavine has authored or co-authored more than 100 journal and conference publications. Her research addresses various aspects of heat transfer, including solar thermal energy storage, thermal energy harvesting, thermal aspects of manufacturing processes, and thermomechanical behavior of shape memory alloys.

We’d also like to take this moment to thank Kathleen Komar and Robert Gibson, both of whom served as the acting co-directors of OID during the last two years. As Professor Komar returns to teaching and research and Mr. Gibson takes on a new role as OID’s CAO, we hope you’ll join us in thanking them. Their service, leadership, and dedication leaves OID’s services and programs much-improved and we owe them a debt of gratitude.

We very much look forward to working with Adrienne and have every confidence that OID will thrive under her leadership.


Patricia Turner
Dean and Vice Provost, Undergraduate Education

Scott L. Waugh
Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost