Degree Attainment and Student Success Task Force

June 21, 2019

UCLA Office of the Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost

To: Administrative Officers, Deans, Department Chairs, Directors, Faculty, Vice Chancellors, and Vice Provosts

Dear Colleagues:

The University of California Office of the President (OP) has recently put forth a multi-year plan with the goals of increasing degree attainment at the undergraduate and graduate levels, improving overall graduation rates and closing graduation gaps for low-income, first generation and underrepresented students. These goals are of the utmost importance to UCLA, and our objectives are to achieve best-in-class graduation rates and to eliminate graduation rate disparities by 2030.

Achievement of these goals will require understanding the causes of graduation delays and disparities, and developing innovative solutions to address them. To this aim, I have formed a Degree Attainment and Student Success Task Force charged with developing, implementing and measuring initiatives. This group brings together stakeholders from across campus to ensure the coordination of efforts and to create shared accountability. Additionally, the task force will consult with a multitude of stakeholders and experts across campus as various initiatives evolve. The task force is overseen by an Executive Committee, which will ensure we are compliant with the OP multi-year plan and any ensuing updates as well as any UCLA-specific goals.

The task force membership is as follows:

  • Executive Committee
    • EVC/Provost
    • Youlonda Copeland-Morgan – vice provost for enrollment management
    • Adriana Galván – vice chair, Academic Senate Undergraduate Council; professor of developmental psychology and behavioral neuroscience
    • Robin Garrell – vice provost/dean, Graduate Division
    • Monroe Gorden – vice chancellor of student affairs
    • Adrienne Lavine – associate vice provost, Center for the Advancement of Teaching (CAT); professor of mechanical and aerospace engineering
    • Jeff Roth – associate vice chancellor, Office of Academic Planning and Budget
    • Laurie Summers – assistant provost
    • Patricia Turner – dean and vice provost for undergraduate education
  • Degree Attainment and Student Success Task Force
    • Jaime Balboa – assistant vice provost for summer sessions
    • Lydia Coleman – director of strategic consulting, Office of Academic Planning and Budget
    • Stephanie Dyas – deputy director, Office of Corporate, Foundation and Research Relations
    • Kelly Lytle Hernandez – chair, American Talent Initiative Faculty Committee; professor of history and African American studies; director Bunche Center
    • Corey Hollis – assistant vice provost for college academic counseling
    • Claire McCluskey – associate registrar
    • Roxanne Neal – director of new student and transition programs
    • Erin Sanders O’Leary – director, Center for Education Innovation and Learning in the Sciences
    • Jan Reiff – special assistant to the EVC for online teaching and learning; professor of history
    • Tabia Shawel – assistant director, Ralph J. Bunche Center for African American Studies
    • Adam Sugano – executive director, Chancellor’s Office of Data Analytics
    • Juliet Williams – professor of gender studies

Periodic updates will be published to the EVC/Provost website throughout this multi-year effort.


Scott L. Waugh

Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost