Appointment of Lin Zhan as Dean of the UCLA School of Nursing

March 11, 2021

Dear Colleagues:

I am pleased to announce the appointment of Lin Zhan as dean of the UCLA School of Nursing, effective August 1, 2021.

Dr. Zhan is currently dean and professor of nursing at the University of Memphis Loewenberg College of Nursing, serving as the chief academic officer for the college’s programs on two campuses in Memphis and Jackson, TN. Prior to her appointment at the University of Memphis in 2010, she served as professor and dean of the School of Nursing at Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences, leading the school’s programs on three campuses in Boston and Worcester, MA, and Manchester, NH. From 2003 to 2008, she was professor and director of the Ph.D. program in nursing and health promotion at the University of Massachusetts Lowell School of Health and Environment, and before that spent 10 years on the faculty at the University of Massachusetts Boston College of Nursing and Health Sciences, and four years as clinical faculty at the head trauma center of West China Medical University.

Dr. Zhan’s scholarly interests are focused on health equity for the vulnerable, instrument development to measure health-related behaviors, and higher education diversity and workforce development. She has published more than 100 articles and edited six books, conducted funded research, and is frequently invited to give keynote speeches and professional presentations. She serves on the editorial boards of a number of journals including Nursing Report, Journal of Gerontological Nursing, and Journal of Aging and Geriatric Medicine. She is a fellow of the American Academy of Nursing (inducted 2001), a Wharton Executive Fellow as a graduate of the American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN)-Wharton Executive Leadership Program, an honorary professor at 10 universities in China, board treasurer of the AACN, and has served as a board member of the National League for Nursing. Named in 2020 as one of the “Visionaries in Geriatric Nursing: A Legacy for the Future” in the Journal of Geriatric Nursing and as one of the top 100 nursing professors in the United States in 2012 by, Dr. Zhan is the recipient of numerous honors and awards including the National League for Nursing Outstanding Leadership Award in Nursing and Education in 2010. She received her B.S. from West China Medical University, her M.S.N. from Boston University, and Ph.D. from Boston College.

I want to thank the search/advisory committee members for assembling an outstanding pool of candidates and for their roles in recruiting Lin. Thomas H. Rice, distinguished professor of health policy and management, was the committee chair. Other members were:

  • Clarence H. Braddock III – professor of medicine; Maxine and Eugene Rosenfeld Chair in Medical Education; vice dean for education, David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA
  • Lauren Clark – professor of nursing; Shapiro Family Endowed Chair in Developmental Disability Studies
  • Lynn V. Doering – professor of nursing; associate dean for academic and student affairs, School of Nursing
  • Karen A. Grimley – chief nurse executive, UCLA Health; assistant dean, School of Nursing
  • Edmond R. Hewlett – professor of dentistry; associate dean of equity, diversity, and inclusion, School of Dentistry
  • Paul M. Macey – associate professor of nursing
  • Wendie A. Robbins – professor and Audrienne H. Moseley Endowed Chair in Nursing; professor of environmental health sciences

I also want to recognize and thank Dean Linda Sarna — who is retiring on June 30 — for her distinguished leadership of the School of Nursing since 2014, and to thank Associate Dean Holli DeVon for agreeing to serve as interim dean during the month of July.

Chancellor Block and I are confident that UCLA Nursing will continue to thrive under Lin’s capable leadership and that she will be an extraordinary addition to our campus leadership team. Please join us in congratulating Lin and welcoming her to campus and into this new role.


Emily A. Carter

Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost