Search/Advisory Committee: Dean, David Geffen School of Medicine and Vice Chancellor, Medical Sciences

August 19, 2009

Administrative Officers, Deans, Department Chairs, Directors, Vice Chancellors, Medical School and Medical Sciences Faculty

Dear Colleagues:

I am pleased to announce the appointment of a search/advisory committee charged with identifying candidates for the position of dean of the David Geffen School of Medicine and vice chancellor of medical sciences at UCLA. As you may know, Dr. Gerald Levey has announced that he will not seek another five-year term when his current term expires on June 30, 2009. However, he has graciously agreed to continue serving through the conclusion of this search or as long as is necessary to ensure a smooth transition for the incoming dean/vice chancellor. We are deeply grateful for Jerry’s 15 years of distinguished service to UCLA.

I will chair the search committee. Other committee members are:

  • Sherin U. Devaskar — Professor and Vice Chair, Pediatrics
  • James S. Economou — Professor of Surgery
  • Jose J. Escarce — Professor of Medicine, UCLA; Senior Natural Scientist, RAND Corporation
  • David T. Feinberg — CEO, UCLA Hospital System; Associate Vice Chancellor
  • Judith C. Gasson — Director, Jonsson Comprehensive Cancer Center
  • Langston T. Holly — Ruth & Raymond Stotter Chair in Neurosurgery
  • Patricia A. Kapur — Professor and Ronald L. Katz M.D. Chair, Department of Anesthesiology
  • Linda M. Liau — Professor of Neurosurgery; Director, Comprehensive Brain Tumor Program
  • Courtney H. Lyder — Dean, School of Nursing
  • Jeffery F. Miller – Chair, Department of Microbiology, Immunology & Molecular Genetics
  • Judy D. Olian — Dean and John E. Anderson Chair in Management, UCLA Anderson School of Management
  • No-Hee Park — Dean, School of Dentistry
  • Lynda Resnick — Co-Chairman, Roll International; Founder, POM Wonderful
  • David L. Rimoin — Director, Medical Genetics Institute, Cedars-Sinai; Professor of Pediatrics, Medicine and Human Genetics, UCLA
  • Linda Rosenstock — Dean, School of Public Health
  • Richard Sherman — CEO, The David Geffen Company
  • LuAnn Wilkerson — Senior Associate Dean, Medical Education
  • Phillip L. Williams — Vice Chairman Emeritus, Times-Mirror Company; Chairman, School of Medicine Board of Visitors

To enhance the search efforts, we have also commissioned the services of an executive search firm, Witt/Kieffer, represented by Dr. Anthony Barbato, Mr. James Gauss and Ms. Mary Elizabeth Taylor.

A copy of the position announcement will be forwarded in the near future, with an opportunity for you to help identify suitable candidates.


Scott L. Waugh
Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost