Search/Advisory Committee: Dean of the UCLA School of Nursing

August 17, 2020

Dear Colleagues:

A search/advisory committee has been assembled and charged with identifying candidates for the dean of the UCLA School of Nursing.

Thomas H. Rice, distinguished professor of health policy and management, is chair of the committee. Other members are:

  • Clarence H. Braddock III – professor of medicine; Maxine and Eugene Rosenfeld Chair in Medical Education; vice dean for education, David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA
  • Lauren Clark – professor of nursing; Shapiro Family Endowed Chair in Developmental Disability Studies
  • Lynn V. Doering – professor of nursing; associate dean for academic and student affairs, School of Nursing
  • Karen A. Grimley – chief nurse executive, UCLA Health; assistant dean, School of Nursing
  • Edmond R. Hewlett – professor of dentistry; associate dean of equity, diversity, and inclusion, School of Dentistry
  • Paul M. Macey – associate professor of nursing
  • Wendie A. Robbins – professor and Audrienne H. Moseley Endowed Chair in Nursing; professor of environmental health sciences

To enhance the search effort, we have retained an executive search firm, Isaacson Miller, represented by Brett Barbour, David Bellshaw, and Carley Davenport.

Since the most effective way to identify outstanding prospective candidates is through personal contact, I would very much appreciate your circulating the announcement and notifying the search/advisory committee of any individuals you feel are exceptionally well qualified for the position. The committee also welcomes input on ideal qualities and qualifications for the dean; current opportunities, challenges, and priorities that could help set the agenda for the school; and any other information or insight that will help guide the committee’s efforts. Please email nominations and input to or contact Traci Considine, manager of executive recruitment in the Office of the Chancellor ( Inquiries and applications may also be sent to our consultants at All correspondence will be held in strict confidence.

Thank you for your assistance.


Emily A. Carter
Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost