Search/Advisory Committee: Dean of the Division of Social Sciences

November 16, 2023

Dear Colleagues:

A search/advisory committee has been assembled and charged with identifying candidates for the next dean of the Division of Social Sciences.

Since the most effective way to identify outstanding prospective candidates is through personal contact, I would very much appreciate your circulating the announcement and notifying the search/advisory committee of any individuals you feel are exceptionally well qualified for the position. The committee also welcomes input on ideal qualities and qualifications for the position; current opportunities, challenges and priorities for the next dean; and any other information or insights that will help guide the committee’s efforts. We expressly invite input and nominations by email to our confidential search address, via the online survey or by contacting Traci Considine, manager of executive recruitment, at Inquiries and applications may also be sent to All correspondence will be held in strict confidence.

  • Miguel A. García-Garibay, dean of the Division of Physical Sciences and distinguished professor of chemistry and biochemistry, is chair of the committee. Other members are:
  • Andrew Atkeson – Stanley M. Zimmerman Professor of Economics and Finance
  • Lorrie Frasure – director, Ralph J. Bunche Center for African American Studies; Ralph J. Bunche Endowed Chair; professor of political science and African American studies
  • Jamie M. Goodwin-White – associate professor of geography
  • Tobias Higbie – professor of history and labor studies; director of the Institute for Research on Labor and Employment
  • Kerri L. Johnson – professor of communication and of psychology; associate vice chancellor for faculty development
  • Purnima Mankekar – professor of anthropology; Asian American studies; gender studies; and film, television and digital media
  • Megan Sweeney – professor of sociology
  • Chris Zepeda-Millán – associate professor of Chicana/o studies, sociology, political science and public policy

Thank you for your assistance.


Darnell Hunt
Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost